Day 7

Day 7 brought The Pink Pedal 109 miles from Ann Arbor to Three Rivers, Michigan.

Nick preparing to ride.


For the first time in days, we didn’t make a wrong turn and we ended up making great time despite the hot and humid conditions.  We almost ran out of gas in the middle of nowhere, but found a BP (even though they are singlehandedly destroying the Gulf Of Mexico) in the knick of time.

John and Nick at the Falling Water Trail

I think Michigan needs to be renamed “The Roadkill State,” because throughout our ride today I think we might have seen well over 50 individual dead animals roasting in the sweltering heat.  Scores of people asked about our trip and showed support for the cause.  We are fighting breast cancer in our own way and it is amazing to see people behind us.

Lunch and Twin Six waterbottles!


The Pink Pedal goes to Chicagoland tommorrow!  Keep rockin the shirts and showing support.

PS: To any concerned parents (Mainly Paul and Toni), Ty busted his phone today and is unable to answer any phone calls or check any messages.

Travis eating a Supreme Protein Raptor Bar while Ty realizes his phone is broken.

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “Day 7”

  1. Barbie Hasenberg Says:

    Pink Pedal ~ Cant wait for your arrival here in the Chicagoland area, Buffalo Grove! The Home Cooked Food is waiting.

    The Welcome signs are waiting…just follow them to the house! Hoping to get the Tribune out here to capture a few “Kodak Moments”

    The Prairie House of PrairieView, IL Welcomes the Pink Pedal also!

    The Hasnberg Family

  2. Toni Ann Bereskie Says:

    Thanks for the heads up on Ty’s phone. I was wondering why Ty wasn’t returning my calls. Ty, call me on one of the guys phones if you need anything. And I think I have Nicks’ and Travis’ numbers if I need to call you.

  3. Toni Ann Bereskie Says:

    Thank you Hasnbergs and the PrairieView House for welcoming my son Ty and the the other guys. Ty’s Mom

  4. Dakota Says:

    i want video!

  5. Maude Boxter Says:

    You guys are doing GREAT!!!!…Keep up the good work….

    Johnny…remember we will be waiting for ya at Bingo…Huggers!!!!!

    Be Safe…And God Bless!

    p.s……You are all in my prayers!

    Love ya Johnny!!

  6. tami mattu joyce Says:

    ty your doing great, sending you a check to help with your adventure. we love you
    tami and rick

  7. Barbie Hasenberg Says:

    To the wonderful parents of the Pink Pedal Crew,

    Your young men are awsome, polite, and very good eaters!
    At the moment I can’t stop thinking about this whirl wind from the moment they arrived May 31, 2010. It has been nothing but pure fun. The guys did not stop smiling after having their first ever massages! Listening to them talk about it afterwards was interesting to say the least.

    They are truly inspirational to everyone here! We really did adore all of them, and cant say enough about each of them. It gave us so much pleasure in having them stay with us. I get all teared up each and every time I look at the photos posted taken while here. My favorite is the one of them in front of the American flag. They do represent our country. They are the future leaders of this country, and will make great ones at that! They came, and they went……

    Barbie, Harley, Erik, and Markus Hasenberg

  8. Joyce Anczarski Says:

    to Barb, Harley, Erik, and Markus Hasenberg I am John’s mom. My husband and I are very grateful that you allowed John and the rest of the Pink Pedal gang to stay at your house. You know as a parent that it is a scary world out there and the fact that they met and stayed with a wonderful family helped to ease our fears. My oldest sister (John’s aunt) was diagnosed with breast cancer several years ago and is now 64 and remains cancer free. One of my best friends in high school died of breast cancer when she was in her early 30’s and a girl I worked with was diagnosed and also remains cancer free. I wish you the best in your recovery and I know that because of the love in your heart and your generosity that you have a STRONG SPIRIT which I personally believe is the most important thing of all. Again, thank you for opening your home to our boys and we will keep you in our prayers.

  9. Toni Ann Bereskie Says:

    Barbie,
    This is Ty’s mom. I want to thank you for your sweet words about my son and the other guys. I didn’t realize you suffered from breast cancer, but, want you to know you will be in my prayers for your continued recovery. I am so pleased my son had the opportunity to meet you. The memories of you, your family and your friends will stay with him forever. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    Ty’s mom

Leave a Reply

